Affordable Wedding Officiants




Marriage Laws United States Oregon OR Wedding Officiants

Marriage license Laws in the state of Oregon, here is what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the Oregon marriage laws before filling out the Oregon marriage license form.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

In order to get married, you need to apply and receive a marriage license. This is the document in your state that allows you to officially tie the knot under the law. The rules for acquiring your marriage license varies from state to state, so you should check with your city's marriage bureau at your clerk of court's office to find out what your local rules are.

You'll typically need to apply for your marriage license at least one month before your wedding ceremony. You'll traditionally need to send in your birth certificates, tax information, and other official documents. You don't, however, want to apply for your marriage license too early. In some states, the licenses do expire, if you don't get married within a few months.

When you apply for your license, you'll not only need a proof of identification and age, but you'll need to apply for the certificate together, will need to provide any information about previous marriages, and will need to pay a nominal fee. You will also need to have a witness when you sign the application, so plan on bringing your maid of honor or best man with you. The bride will need to know what her married name will be before she signs the marriage certificate. You'll have to write that name on the application.

And, believe it or not, just because you have your marriage license sent to you in the mail does not mean you are officially married. You need to have a justice of the peace or a religious clergyman sign the document. On your wedding day, you'll give your chaplain your marriage license, then after the ceremony, he'll sign it and send it to the proper government agency for validation.

Order Vital Records Online!

ID Requirement: Drivers License or certified birth certificate or passport and his or her Social Security number.

Residency Requirement: Do not have to be a resident of Oregon.

If previously married: A license can be issued one day after the final date of a divorce. The final divorce date is required on the marriage license application.

Order Vital Records Online!

Application Requirement: Both parties to a marriage should appear in person to obtain the license.

Fees: $60 - Cash Only.

•  There are no exceptions or waivers to the license fee.

•  No extensions or refunds are made once the license is issued.

Waiting Period: 3 days. There is a three day waiting period from the day the license is issued until it can be used.

Blood Tests: No test.

Under 18: Anyone not yet 17 years of age cannot be legally married in the State of Oregon. A seventeen year-old can be married if they have the parent's or guardian's consent. Parent and guardian consent forms are available from the County Recording Office.

• If you are seventeen and have resided within Washington County for at least six months, and no parent or guardian resides in the State of Oregon, you may be married if you have an affidavit signed by someone other than the bride or groom stating these facts. Affidavit forms are available from the County Recording Office.

Legal age for marriage in the State of Oregon for both bride and groom is 18.

Order Vital Records Online!

Marriage Ceremony: Marriage ceremonies may be performed by the following:
•  Judges

•  Justices of Peace

•  County Clerks or their Deputies within appointing county

•  Persons appointed to perform the ceremony by a congregation having regular meetings in the state (i.e., ministers, pastors, priests, rabbis).

Proxy Marriages: No. Both parties must be present.

Common Law Marriage: No.

Cousin Marriage: No.

Officiants: Ministers of any church organized, carrying on its work, and having congregations in this state may perform marriages in this state if authorized by their church to do so.

Valid: License is valid for 60 days.
The license can only be used within the State of Oregon.

It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to update@usmarriagelaws.com.  Please include the state and county information.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Oregon Clerk's Office

Baker County Clerk
Baker, OR
541.523.8207

Benton County
Corvallis, OR
541.757.6831

Clackamas County
Oregon City, OR
503.655.8551

Clatsop County
Astoria, OR
503.325.8511

Columbia County
St Helens, OR
503.397.3796

Coos County
Coquille, OR
541.396.3121

Crook County
Prineville, OR
541.447.6553

Curry County
Gold Beach, OR
541.247.7017

Deschutes County
Bend, OR
541.388.6549

Douglas County
Roseburg, OR
541.440.4318

Giliam County
Condon, OR
541.384.2311

Grant County
Canyon City, OR
541.575.1675

Harney County
Burns, OR
541.573.6641

Hood River
Hood River, OR
541.386.3970

Jackson County
Medford, OR
541.776.7232

Jefferson County
Madras, OR
541.475.4451

Josephine County
Grants Pass, OR
541.474.5243

Klamath County
Klamath Falls, OR
541.883.5134

Lake County
Lakeview, OR
541.947.6006

Lane County
Eugene, OR
541.682.3653

Lincoln County
Newport, OR
541.265.4121

Linn County
Albany, OR
541.967.3831

Malheur County
Vale, OR
541.473.5151

Marion County
Salem, OR
503.588.5225

Morrow County
Heppner, OR
503.676.9061

Multnomah County
Portland, OR
503.988.3326 (4)

Polk County
Dallas, OR
503.623.9217

Sherman County
Moro, OR
541.565.3606

Tillamook County
Tillamook, OR
503.842.3402

Umatilla County
Pendleton, OR
541.276.7111

Union County
La Grande, OR
541.963.1006

Wallowa County
Enterprise, OR
541.426.4543

Wasco County
The Dalles, OR
541.296.6159

Washington County
Hillsboro, OR
503.648.8752

Wheeler County
Fossil, OR
541.763.2400

Yamhill County
Mcminnville, OR
503.472.9371

Ask Questions, Get Answers from Experts ASAP | JustAnswer Ask questions and get answers from verified Experts online. Get an answer when you ask a lawyer, wedding planner, or other Expert on JustAnswer.com.

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state of Oregon.


Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

Find Local Officiants | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | ANY Wedding Officiants


© 2014